Lotto Results

Upcoming Events

Join us on Facebook:
Borris-Ileigh GAA
Borris-Ileigh Camogie


To try and synopsize the history of such a proud club as Borris-Ileigh into a few paragraphs is almost impossible but here is a brief outline.

Borrisoleigh hurling club was formed in 1886. They competed in the first county championship in 1887 where they were defeated by Thurles in the semi final.

Their first success of note was in 1910. They won the mid senior football final by defeating Upperchurch and won the county junior hurling final by beating Toomevara.

The club continued to participate at varying levels of success with both Borris and Ileigh entering various teams in both the mid and north division but it wasn’t until 1947 that Borrisoleigh won their first north senior championship defeating Kilruane on the 31st of August on the scoreline 4-3 to 2-6. They were defeated in the county final by Carrick swans.

On the 21st of January 1948 one of the most historic events in the clubs history took place when both Borrisoleigh and Ileigh were united as one team. Fr. John C. Ryan was the key arbitrator in this union.

Borris-Ileigh won a mid senior final in 1949 V Boerlahan after a replay in front of 14,500 attendants. They won their first county final that year beating Knockavilla-Donaskeigh on a scoreline of 4-6 to 2-1.

They won their second county final the following year, beating Carrick Swans on the scoreline of 2-7 to 2-3 and on the 4th of October 1953, defeated Boerlahan in front of 16,000 people on the scoreline of 4-8 to 4-4 to win their third county senior final of this glorious era.

Borris-Ileigh success in the 60’s and 70’s was sporadic but their representation on Tipperary teams more than made up for it. Names such as the Ryans, Kennys, Jimmy Finn and Liam Devaney were legendary the length and breadth of the country and this is but to name a few.

We had to wait until the 1980’s until our next senior success where we dominated the senior hurling championship and won county finals in 1981, 83 and 86, complementing these famous wins was an historic Munster and All-Ireland championship.

In the 86-87 season, the club has had and continues to have huge success at senior, U-21 and juvenile levels but are too many to mention in such a small article.

Over the coming months it will be an important part of this website to re-trace famous victories in the proud history of this club and to honour the names of past hurlers who wore the maroon and white with pride down through the years.