Lotto Results

Upcoming Events

Join us on Facebook:
Borris-Ileigh GAA
Borris-Ileigh Camogie

Borris-Ileigh V Carrick Swans 07/09/2013

On Saturday last we took on Carrick Swans in Holycross in round 4 of the county championship and came up trumps with a hard fought 6 point win. Carrick were beaten only by a very late Pat Kerwick goal in the south final and would have entered the game with a sense of confidence. Injury worries to Danny O Hanlon were unfounded as the former Tipp attacker took up his position in the Carrick attack before the whistle. The opening quarter was at times scrappy and failed to spark into life. By the 17th minute the scoreboard only read Carrick 0-04 Borris 0-03. It was at this point that Borris awoke and started finding range after a host of early wides to leave the half time score 0-08 to 0-04 in favour of Borris with 5 of the 6 Borris forwards raising white flags. The late rally form Borris continues into the second half with the lead stretching to 7 points before an effort from Lee Wall found a Carrick hurley and beat goalie Jack Bourke. The lead was then cut again with 2 quick Carrick points before a mass brawl brought events to a lengthy stoppage. The result for both teams saw Jody Harkin and Martin Maher getting their marching orders for Borris, while Bill Walsh and Lee Wall saw the line for The Swans. Borris looked in trouble at the restart of play when Danny O Hanlon rattled the net after finding himself unmarked at the edge of the square, but it was not to be for Carrick as a late rally of 1-04 to 0-01 in the last 10 minutes saw Borris hold out for a six point win and qualify for the county quarter final. Anacarthy await us now and there will surely be a few scores to settled after being knocked out by the men from the west in 2012.

Team: Jack Bourke, Martin Treacy, Rory Kinane, Sean Maher, Paddy Stapleton, Philip Maher, Martin Maher, Seamus Burke, Brendan Maher(0-07,4F,1 65), Mark Bourke(0-02), Dan McCormack(0-02), Keith Ryan(1-02), Kieran Maher(0-03), Conor Kenny(0-01), David O Connor. Subs: Jody Harkin for Rory Kinane(13th), Declan Maher for Seamus Burke(40th), Benny Harkin for Mark Bourke(48th), Aidan Cowan for David O Connor(52nd)