Lotto Results

Upcoming Events

Join us on Facebook:
Borris-Ileigh GAA
Borris-Ileigh Camogie

Borris-Ileigh V Toomevara 23/03/2014

On Sunday morning last we played host to Toomevara in the quarter final of the division 1 league. With a brisk wind blowing across the field, a sizable crowd gathered for the clash of the two great rivals who have served up some classics over the years. Though not a championship game, the game started at a great pace with both sets of teams unwilling to let the other build up any sort of a sizeable lead. Points from David O Connor, Dan McCormack and Seamus Burke cancelled out Mark McCarthy well taken goal in the opening minute with the men in maroon leading by a point after ten minutes. Toome kept their tally ticking over even though Borris extended their lead to two with further points from David O Connor who took his first half haul to five points(two coming from frees), Sean McCormack and Aidan Cowan; all splitting the posts with well taken efforts. As always Toome refused to wilt and on the 23rd minute Eoin Brislane got in behind the Borris full back line to leave Jack Bourke with little chance of stopping his well taken shot. Toome would finish the half the strongest to leave it 2-6 to 0-11 in favour of the greyhounds.

The second half took off where the first half finished up, with Toome coming back out of the dressing room much stronger. Eoin Brislane was quickest to react to the sliothar rebounding off Jack Bourke’s post and finished well to extend the Toome lead. Borris would add just two frees in the opening twenty minutes of the second half. It would prove to be the undoing of them as the gap was to be too wide to bridge. A late rally took off when Tommy Kavanagh pointed in the 50th minute which was followed by scores Matty Stapleton, Dan McCormack and two from Jody Harkin. With the clock in their favour Toome held out for a three point win on a scoreline of 3-12 to 0-18. Borris will rue the three goals conceded as a blot on an otherwise solid performance. Notable performances from Jody Harkin, David O Connor and Dan McCormack will have caught the eye of supporters but for 2014, the league campaign has concluded.

The team that featured is as follows:

Jack Bourke, Martin Treacy, Philip Maher, Sean Maher, Liam Ryan, Rory Kinane, Thomas Fahy, Seamus Burke, Jody Harkin, David O Connor, Aidan Cowan, Dan McCormack, Matthew Stapleton, Sean McCormack, Cathal Bourke. Subs: Tommy Kavanagh for Cathal Bourke(h-t), Keith Ryan for Aidan Cowan(h-t), Maurice Ryan for Liam Ryan(44th)

Scorers: David O Connor(0-7, 4f), Dan McCormack(0-3), Seamus Burke(0-2), Jody Harkin(0-2), Aidan Cowan, Matthew Stapleton, Sean McCormack, Tommy Kavanagh all 0-1