Lotto Results

Upcoming Events

Join us on Facebook:
Borris-Ileigh GAA
Borris-Ileigh Camogie

Borris-Ileigh V Lorrha 13.04.2013

Borris-Ileigh took on Lorrha last Saturday evening in Cloughjordan in the 2nd round of the North Championship. Borris entered the game on the back of a victory the previous weekend against a weakened Borrisokane while Lorrha had shipped a heavy defeat to the hands of Templederry. The game stood as a double header, throwing in at 4:30, with the Templederry-Borrisokane game on after it. From the off it looked as if it was going to be a tough, physical match and it remained true for the 60 minutes. Conor Kenny settled Borris with an early point and 3 frees. Benny Harkin also got in on the act leaving the score at 0-05 to 0-04. It was from here that Borris kicked off with 5 unanswered points, 4 being from play. The lead could have been a lot more had it not been for Brian Hogan in the Lorrha goal who twice denied Brendan Maher from a 21 yard free and a penalty in the 20th and 25th minute.  At half time the score stood at 0-10 to 0-04. The composure shown by Borris was evident on the board as well as the free count, conceding 3 frees to Lorrha’s 11. Borris Continued to pile on the pressure with points from Brendan Maher and a great solo effort by Dan McCormack after the break until Patrick Maher punished Borris for a sloppily given away free when he rattled the net to leave it at 0-12 to 1-05 after 35 minutes. Much like the previous week Borris were not phased and continued to tack on points to their haul. Conor Kenny sent over two more frees and a point from play, while Benny Harkin doubled his tally while substitute David O Connor scored from the bench for a second week running. Brendan Maher was to have the final say on the game, firstly slotting over a 65 in injury time before he stepped up to Brian Hogan in the Lorrha goal for the third time after he had been dragged down. It was a case of 3rd times a charm as he sent his 21 yard free to the roof of the net to leave the final score at Borris-Ileigh 1-19 Lorrha 1-06.

The team was as follows

Jack Bourke, Martin Treacy, Philip Maher, Sean Maher, Martin Maher, Paddy Stapleton, Seamus Burke, Jody Harkin(0-01), Sean McCormack, William Donnelly, Brendan Maher(1-02, 1-00 free, 0-01 65), Dan McCormack(0-02), Declan Maher(0-01), Conor Kenny( 0-10, 0-06 frees), Benny Harkin(0-02). Subs- 28th min-David O Connor(0-01) for William Donnelly, 42nd min-Vinny Stapleton for Jody Harkin